BN should withdraw from any nomination of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker post and allow the candidates recommended by PR to step up

Perak Pakatan Rakyat submitted the nomination for Speaker and Deputy Speaker for the Perak State Assembly today. We have nominated YB V. Sivakumar, ex-Speaker prior to the 2009 power grab, as the Speaker and YB Abdul Yunus bin Jamahri, 2nd term State Assemblyman for Kuala Kurau, as the Deputy Speaker.

YB Ust. Abu Bakar, Perak PAS Commissioner and Titi Serong State Assemblyman, nominated YB V. Sivakumar. The nomination was seconded by YB Dato’ Ngeh Koo Ham, Perak DAP Chairman and Sitiawan State Assemblyman. The nomination of YB Adbul Yunus was proposed by myself, being the Canning State Assemblyman and was seconded by YB Chang Lih Kang, Teja State Assemblyman.

Pakatan Rakyat won the popular vote in Perak by 55% but due to the unfair delineation of the constituencies, Barisan Nasional, who only won 45% of the popular vote, formed State Government in Perak. This goes against the basic spirit of democracy. The spirit of democracy means that the majority rules over the minority and the electoral system must adopt and reflect the principle of “one man, one vote, one value”. These principles cannot be compromised.

After the 2009 power grab, BN has no popular votes and as such, they do not dare to face questions from the PR elected representatives. BN has, through the then Speaker, Dato’ R. Ganesan, rejected the questions and switched off the microphones of PR elected reps, ordered reporters out and placed them, hidden, on the 3rd floor, causing PR reps to be unable to effectively carry out any check and balance whatsoever during the Assembly sitting.

Through the result of PRU13, it is very clear that Perakians want a change through a new government. BN now commands a mere 45% of popular votes, which is less than 2008’s 48%. If BN respects the people’s decision, BN should withdraw from any nomination of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker post and allow the candidates recommended by PR to step up. This is also in order to show that BN is ready to do away with political differences and reform the State Assembly for the sake of the people.

During his term as the Perak Assembly Speaker, particularly in the 2009 power grab incident, PR’s candidate for the Speaker post, YB V. Sivakumar, has performed very well. He has even went to Court with BN to defend the autonomy, independence and integrity of the Perak Assembly. He is fully qualified to be the Speaker again, especially as the current ruling party does not have the majority’s support.

PR also proposed YB Abdul Yunus b. Jamahri, 2nd term State Assemblyman, as the Deputy Speaker as he has proven himself to be an outstanding State Assemblyman. His majority increased from 467 in 2008 to 5014 in 2013, an increase of 11 times! He has the experience required in conducting and handling matters of the Assembly.

Compared to BN, in particular UMNO and MIC, who has been publicly fighting for the Speaker post, the candidates for both posts from PR was agreed in the PR Council meeting on 11.06.2013 unanimously. Meritocracy was the main consideration. The three parties have no objections to the name proposed and this has proven that PR is better and more sincere than BN when dealing with state matters and the people’s welfare.

Wong Kah Woh DAP Perak Publicity Secretary & ADUN for Canning